Underestimating Books (Throne of Glass)

Underestimating Books (Throne of Glass)

We’ve probably all underestimated a book at some point before we read it. Maybe even dismissed it outright because of reviews we’ve read, or because we don’t like the genre, or the author.

There are plenty of books I’ve put off reading because I’d heard they had too much romance or the plot was too similar to another book. The Divergent series is one of them. I’d heard that it was a rip-off of the Hunger Games, that the plot was focused on romance… And while it is similar to The Hunger Games and the books do focus on romance (too much in the last two) I regretted not reading it sooner.

The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas is another series I avoided for a long time. For the most part, it sounded like something I’d read. Fantasy. Action. Murder. Twists. But the reviews I read—negative and positive—kept mentioning romance.  I don’t like romance in books. I think it takes away from everything else (unless it’s a romance book and that is the plot—in which case I probably wouldn’t read it anyway). It bogs down plot, characters, pace.

But then I swallowed my doubts, decided to give Throne of Glass a shot. The first twenty pages I thought maybe I’d been wrong. Maybe I should’ve read this sooner. Then the romance started in, and Celaena was focused on feelings, clothes…

I started to think about putting it down. Then I remembered I’d underestimated books before, and stuck with it. My interest picked up and dropped, picked up and dropped for a couple hundred pages. I liked the twists and mystery of who was stalking the castle, but wasn’t so interested on the talking about feelings stuff.

Then the tournament hit and the mystery picked up and became more of the focus of the plot.

I ended up speeding through Throne of Glass and ordered the sequels soon after.

Now, halfway through Crown of Midnight, I don’t regret starting this series. I do regret not starting it sooner. Crown of Midnight is faster paced, has more action, mystery and twists than Throne of Glass. The world-building develops as much as the characters, and Erilea is fast becoming one of my favourite fantasy worlds. Even though the romance is still a part of the plot, there are enough other strands to keep me interested.

I underestimated the Throne of Glass series, and it was a mistake. It’s probably wise to reserve judgement on a book until I’ve read it.


Has anyone else put-off reading a book/series because of reviews you’d read or because you didn’t think you’d like it? Have you been proven wrong by a book/series?

About Sam Whitehouse

Sam spends most of his time in a different world to other people. If it isn’t one he’s created himself, it’s one he’s reading about. In the rare moments when this isn’t the case, Sam can either be found addicted to a sci-fi or crime show, re-watching Marvel movies, finishing up an assignment for his final year of studying Creative Writing at Sheffield Hallam University, or trying to get the dozens of ideas for stories in his head under some kind of control. Sam has lived in the same small village in Yorkshire, surrounded by countryside on all sides ever since he could remember. His childhood saw him get into plenty of scrapes climbing trees and crossing rivers and generally believing he was Indiana Jones. Sam gives credit to his Grandad for him wanting to be a writer, and his bedtime stories for keeping Sam’s imagination stoked. But credit must also go to Steven Spielberg, J K Rowling and Stephen King, who have provided plenty of inspiration over the years, too. Sam writes what he reads, and that is pretty much anything—save romance. Fantasy, thrillers, or crime: once an idea takes root, he can’t stop until the world, characters, and plot are on paper. A huge Marvel fan, Sam one day hopes to pen a screenplay for one of their movies, or direct one, or do anything at all related to one. Until then, he’ll stick to his own fantasy worlds and wait for Marvel’s phone call.

Posted on 05/01/2015, in books, reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

This Fish Likes To Read

Reading through currents

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Emma Janelle Reads

A YA book blog!

book bear blog

Bear blogs about books!

WRIT

Written by Ritter

Couch Potahto

Everything From the Life of a Part-Time Sofa Spud

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

