Top Ten Authors I’d Like to Meet (Top Ten Tuesday)

Top Ten Authors I’d like to Meet

Hosted by the Broke and the Bookish

Most of the authors on this list wrote books I grew up reading, so they made the list for making me interested in writing and helping me improve my writing. Some of them are just damn good writers.


Lee Child

Author of the Jack Reacher books, Child is as cool as his main character. Technically, I’ve met Child, but it was at a book signing, and I shook his hand, but didn’t get an opportunity to ask questions. His writing style is sharp and addictive and his books never fail to entertain. But more than that, he helped me better my writing and encouraged me to write something other than fantasy/adventure.

JK Rowling

JK Rowling probably makes it onto this list for a lot of people. I grew up reading the Potter books and they kept me rooted in writing.

Stephen King

This guy is the boss. It’s hard to think of a better writer. I haven’t read all of his books–not even close. But those that I have read are consistently awesome. He writes characters better than any other author I’ve read and there’s never a dull moment in his books. 11/22/63 is one of my favourite books of all time.

Rick Riordan

Like the Potter books, I grew up reading Percy Jackson. Action, adventure, humour, battles, everything I like in a book.

Paul Stewart & Chris Riddell

Stewart and Riddell count as one, because they’re the co-authors of the Edge Chronicles–another series I grew up reading. The Edge is an awesome fantasy world and the books are some of the best fantasy I’ve read.

Derek Landy

The Skulduggery Pleasant series is laugh-out-loud funny, action-packed and entertaining. If Landy is as funny as his books then a meeting with this dude would probably involve plenty of rolling on the floor laughing.

Joe Abercrombie

I’ve yet to read Abercrombie’s adult high-fantasy series, but his YA Shattered Sea trilogy is some of the best high fantasy, if not the best, I’ve read. Gritty, action-packed, plenty of violence–this guy knows how it’s done.

Jonathan Stroud

The Bartimeaus Trilogy, The Lockwood & Co. series–Stroud writes some of the best YA/MG fantasy around. There’s no limit to this dude’s imagination. And I can only hope to write fantasy as well as he can.

Joseph Delaney

Delaney reminds me of my Grandad, who used to tell me stories when I was a kid (and still does) and first got me interested in books. I’d been interested in books long before I started the Spooks series, but Delaney fueled my interest in fantasy.

Michael Crichton

Crichton wrote one of my favourite books and movies of all time in Jurassic Park, and I’ve read almost all of his books. The guy blends science and entertainment like nobody else and manages to make it understandable for everyone. It was a sad day when he died, but he’ll be remembered as not just a great sci-fi writer, but a great writer all round.


Would anyone like to meet any of the above authors, or someone different?

About Sam Whitehouse

Sam spends most of his time in a different world to other people. If it isn’t one he’s created himself, it’s one he’s reading about. In the rare moments when this isn’t the case, Sam can either be found addicted to a sci-fi or crime show, re-watching Marvel movies, finishing up an assignment for his final year of studying Creative Writing at Sheffield Hallam University, or trying to get the dozens of ideas for stories in his head under some kind of control. Sam has lived in the same small village in Yorkshire, surrounded by countryside on all sides ever since he could remember. His childhood saw him get into plenty of scrapes climbing trees and crossing rivers and generally believing he was Indiana Jones. Sam gives credit to his Grandad for him wanting to be a writer, and his bedtime stories for keeping Sam’s imagination stoked. But credit must also go to Steven Spielberg, J K Rowling and Stephen King, who have provided plenty of inspiration over the years, too. Sam writes what he reads, and that is pretty much anything—save romance. Fantasy, thrillers, or crime: once an idea takes root, he can’t stop until the world, characters, and plot are on paper. A huge Marvel fan, Sam one day hopes to pen a screenplay for one of their movies, or direct one, or do anything at all related to one. Until then, he’ll stick to his own fantasy worlds and wait for Marvel’s phone call.

Posted on 05/12/2015, in books, top ten tuesday, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I have to admit that I haven’t heard of some of these authors. I will definitely have to look them up. One author I would love to meet would be Sarah Dessen… and J.R.R. Tolkien, even though I know he’s not around anymore.

  2. I’d include Steven Erickson and Brandon Sanderson if I were you. They re the best in their field (For me at least) but those are great Authors too 😀

    If you’d like, Follow my blog for book reviews and stuff :3

  3. I love your choices! Jonathan Stroud is such a kind, interesting and funny man. I feel so insanely lucky to have met him a couple of times. (Young me was doing an insanely excitable dance inside when I did, I never thought I’d meet an author who was such a big part of my childhood reading!) Such great picks this week!
    My TTT

  4. I’m with you on Rick Riordan! I just love the Percy Jackson books SO much! Have you read King’s On Writing? It’s really good!

  5. christine danielle

    Rowlng is a definite already! 🙂
    Top Ten Tuesday

  6. Great idea to include the author’s photos, there are a few that look nothing like I expected 🙂
    I love Stephen King’s earlier works, Pet Sematary is my favourite. It kept me awake many nights!
    My TTT

  7. We have quite a few of these in common, JK Rowling, Rick Riordan and Derek Landy were all on my list this week.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/12/top-ten-tuesday-4/

Leave a Reply

This Fish Likes To Read

Reading through currents

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Emma Janelle Reads

A YA book blog!

book bear blog

Bear blogs about books!

WRIT

Written by Ritter

Couch Potahto

Everything From the Life of a Part-Time Sofa Spud

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

