Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books TBR this Summer

Top Ten Tuesday 

Top Ten Books I’ll Read This Summer

Hosted by the Broke and the Bookish


1-  The Dying of the Light (Skulduggery Pleasant 9) by Derek Landy

I was a bit disappointed with the penultimate book in the Skulduggery Pleasant series, but I’ve read mostly positive reviews for this final installment, so it should be epic.

2- Demon Road (Book 1) by Derek Landy

25512260

This sounds as cool as Skulduggery Pleasant, maybe even more so. Should be action-packed, fast paced and funny.

3- Half a War by Joe Abercrombie

22381326

It’s exactly a month today until the release of the final book in the epic Shattered Sea trilogy. I’m hoping for some gritty violence, plenty of battles and action, and a solid conclusion.

4- Duma Key by Stephen King

I’m halfway through King’s The Shining now, and have read all of his latest novels. I’m working my way back (not in any order) and Duma Key will be next after The Shining.

5- Endgame: The Calling by James Frey and Nils Johnson-Shelton

I don’t like how James Frey does business with his co-authors, but I’m a big fan of the action-packed Pittacus Lore books. I’m not sure what to expect from this, save fast-pace and action.

6- Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

I’ve wanted to read this for a while. Should get round to it this summer. With Spielberg at the helm with the move adaption, I’m already looking forward to that.

7- NOS 4A2 by Joe Hill

I’ve never read any of Stephen King’s son’s books, but the premise for this one sounds crazy and cool.

8- Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton 

I usually read this every year. This year, I haven’t so far so it will probably be this summer. With the new Jurassic World movie out, it seems a fitting time. This is one of my favourite books of all time–the movie my favourite move ever made (and that will probably ever be made).

9- The Harry Potter series by J K Rowling

Like Jurassic Park, I read the Potter series every year. I haven’t got around to it yet, and the re-read will probably run from summer into autumn.

10- Unsouled (Unwind 3) by Neal Shusterman

This series is fast-paced, creepy and well-written. The first two books were awesome, so I’m expecting good things from the third book.


Is anyone reading one of/more than one of any of these book? Do you have a book or series of books that you re-read every year?

About Sam Whitehouse

Sam spends most of his time in a different world to other people. If it isn’t one he’s created himself, it’s one he’s reading about. In the rare moments when this isn’t the case, Sam can either be found addicted to a sci-fi or crime show, re-watching Marvel movies, finishing up an assignment for his final year of studying Creative Writing at Sheffield Hallam University, or trying to get the dozens of ideas for stories in his head under some kind of control. Sam has lived in the same small village in Yorkshire, surrounded by countryside on all sides ever since he could remember. His childhood saw him get into plenty of scrapes climbing trees and crossing rivers and generally believing he was Indiana Jones. Sam gives credit to his Grandad for him wanting to be a writer, and his bedtime stories for keeping Sam’s imagination stoked. But credit must also go to Steven Spielberg, J K Rowling and Stephen King, who have provided plenty of inspiration over the years, too. Sam writes what he reads, and that is pretty much anything—save romance. Fantasy, thrillers, or crime: once an idea takes root, he can’t stop until the world, characters, and plot are on paper. A huge Marvel fan, Sam one day hopes to pen a screenplay for one of their movies, or direct one, or do anything at all related to one. Until then, he’ll stick to his own fantasy worlds and wait for Marvel’s phone call.

Posted on 06/16/2015, in books, reading, top ten tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I loved Unsouled … really the whole series was fantastic!

  2. Unsouled wasn’t my favourite of the series, I liked it, don’t get me wrong, just wasn’t my favourite. Dying Of The Light was good, though again, not my favourite SP. I’m hoping to read Demon Road over the summer too. I don’t know about reread, but I am currently doing a rewatch of the Harry Potter movies (I would reread the books, but I have so many new ones to read, I don’t have time to reread anything).
    I did something a little different for my TTT this week, as I did my Summer TBR a few weeks ago, so check it out:
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/06/16/top-ten-tuesday-9/

  3. Dark Days is one of my favorites too. Last Stand of Dead Men is my least favorite.

  4. I have to finish Ready Player One this summer. I got distracted by other books and never got back to it, but I really enjoyed the beginning. 🙂

  5. Great list! I have wanted to check out Endgame for a while because it sounds absolutely amazing. I really hope you enjoy Ready Player One. It’s one of my all time favorite reads! Have a good summer and good luck on your TBR. 🙂
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

Leave a Reply

This Fish Likes To Read

Reading through currents

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Emma the Book Lover

A YA blog by a cat loving reader.

book bear blog

Bear blogs about books!

WRIT

Written by Ritter

Couch Potahto

Everything From the Life of a Part-Time Sofa Spud

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

