Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish


1 – The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien

I’m a big Tolkien fan, but of the Tolkien Peter Jackson adapted into the Lord of the Rings movies. I’ve watched the extended editions of the Lord of the Rings movies at least a dozen times each, and I’ve never read the book. I tried once, but the heavy description and archaic language didn’t hold my interest. They are classics of high-fantasy, but it is one of the rare times I prefer the movies to the books.

2- A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin

I want to read these books, but after watching the show, reading the book might just feel like watching the show again.

3 – Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

Too much romance rubbish. I’ve never had any interest in reading the books or watching the movies.

4 – The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

Like Twilight, this series has never interested me much. Too much romance.

5 – The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (J. K. Rowling)

I’m a big fan of the Potter books, but Rowling’s first crime novel disappointed me. Hopefully one day she will go back to writing fantasy.

6 – The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

There’s no reason I haven’t read this famous series. I just never got around to it.

7 – Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

The premise of X-Men meets Game of Thrones is wicked, but the romance and dystopian elements put me off.

8 – The Book Thief by Markus Zusack

I’ll read this one day.

9 – Lies (Gone series) by Michael Grant

I was a little disappointed by Hunger, the second book in the Gone series, after reading the cool and crazy Gone, and it made me hesitate reading the rest of the series. One day, I’ll finish it.

10 – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I’ve heard as many good reviews for this book as bad. People say the plot is slow and the photographs don’t add anything to the story. With Tim Burton directing the movie, it could be worth a watch.


Has anyone else read and watched the A Song of Fire and Ice (Game of Thrones) series? Is it worth reading the books after watching Game of Thrones?

Does anyone have any of the same books on their lists?

About Sam Whitehouse

Sam spends most of his time in a different world to other people. If it isn’t one he’s created himself, it’s one he’s reading about. In the rare moments when this isn’t the case, Sam can either be found addicted to a sci-fi or crime show, re-watching Marvel movies, finishing up an assignment for his final year of studying Creative Writing at Sheffield Hallam University, or trying to get the dozens of ideas for stories in his head under some kind of control. Sam has lived in the same small village in Yorkshire, surrounded by countryside on all sides ever since he could remember. His childhood saw him get into plenty of scrapes climbing trees and crossing rivers and generally believing he was Indiana Jones. Sam gives credit to his Grandad for him wanting to be a writer, and his bedtime stories for keeping Sam’s imagination stoked. But credit must also go to Steven Spielberg, J K Rowling and Stephen King, who have provided plenty of inspiration over the years, too. Sam writes what he reads, and that is pretty much anything—save romance. Fantasy, thrillers, or crime: once an idea takes root, he can’t stop until the world, characters, and plot are on paper. A huge Marvel fan, Sam one day hopes to pen a screenplay for one of their movies, or direct one, or do anything at all related to one. Until then, he’ll stick to his own fantasy worlds and wait for Marvel’s phone call.

Posted on 07/07/2015, in books, reading, top ten tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I didn’t like the Gone series and Miss Peregrine which also made my list, but I loved Book Thief, Twilight, Narnia series and Lord of the Rings. I’m a little daunted by Game of Thrones books, but I’d like to give them a try. MyTTT

  2. Red Queen and MIss Peregrine made my list. I did love Narnia, Book Thief, and Lord of the Rings though.

    Thanks for sharing!
    Here’s my TTT

    My $30 giveaway ends soon so check it out.

  3. The Book Thief is beautiful, I hope you get to it soon. I had Twilight, Game of Thrones and The Mortal Instruments on my list. I recently bought Red Queen and am really excited for it, since I love books with dystopian elements.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/07/07/top-ten-tuesday-12/

  4. I had a hard time getting through Game of Thrones (the books), so I finally listened to them via Audible. It took a couple months, but I am glad I did it! The show is excellent, but every season strays a little more from the books.

    I completely agree with you regarding the Lord of the Rings.

    • I’ve never listened to an audio book, but the Thrones books seem like good books to listen to.
      The Rings movies are some of my favourite, and Tolkien built an epic world, but the books are too archaic and descriptive for me.

Leave a Reply

This Fish Likes To Read

Reading through currents

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Emma Janelle Reads

A YA book blog!

book bear blog

Bear blogs about books!

WRIT

Written by Ritter

Couch Potahto

Everything From the Life of a Part-Time Sofa Spud

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

