Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books to Read if you like George R.R. Martin…

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish


If you’re a fan of George R.R. Martin but are looking for a book more YA than A Song of Ice and Fire (I still recommend reading Ice and Fire if you’re a young adult), some of the books/series below are worth checking out…

1 – Red Rising by Pierce Brown

This has sci-fi and high fantasy elements, with some great writing and cool set pieces.

2 – The Edge Chronicles by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell

This is one of my favourite YA high fantasy series, with some of the best world-building I’ve read. There are 11 books in the main series, with a new series recently released. Beyond the Deepwoods is the first book.

3 – The Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig

This has dystopian elements, but it’s more high fantasy, with the same complex plotting and suspicious characters as Game of Thrones. Fast paced, well written, worth checking out.

4 – The Shattered Sea trilogy by Joe Abercrombie

Arguably the best YA high fantasy ever written, this is gritty, fast-paced and action packed with well-developed characters and plenty of violence. It’s YA, but it’s as close to Game of Thrones as YA comes. Half a King is the first book.

5 – The Rangers Apprentice series by Jon Flanagan

Another fast-paced series with solid action and characters. The plot isn’t as complex as Game of Thrones, but it’s still unpredictable and gripping. The Ruins of Gorlan is the first book.

6 – Shadow of the Wolf by Tim Hall

This book is underrated. It blends the legend of Robin Hood with werewolves, all in an interesting fantasy world.

7 – The Wardstone Chronicles/Last Apprentice series by Joseph Delaney

I grew up with this series. It’s fantasy/horror, set in a world just slightly different from the real one. Dark, fast-paced, worth checking out. The Spooks Apprentice/Revenge of the Witch (US) is the first book.

8 – Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

I wasn’t a big fan of the first book, but the sequels edged closer to A Song of Ice and Fire and the series got better.

9 – Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Similar to Throne of Glass in that it’s focused too heavily on romance for most of the plot, this is still a solid high-fantasy read with some good action sequences and an interesting world.

10 – Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

Violent, gritty, funny, this is like Shattered Sea in that it’s as close as you can get to a YA Game of Thrones.


Anyone read or wants to read any of these books? If anyone can recommend any more books similar to Game of Thrones, I’d be grateful to hear them…

Advertisements

About Sam Whitehouse

Sam spends most of his time in a different world to other people. If it isn’t one he’s created himself, it’s one he’s reading about. In the rare moments when this isn’t the case, Sam can either be found addicted to a sci-fi or crime show, re-watching Marvel movies, finishing up an assignment for his final year of studying Creative Writing at Sheffield Hallam University, or trying to get the dozens of ideas for stories in his head under some kind of control. Sam has lived in the same small village in Yorkshire, surrounded by countryside on all sides ever since he could remember. His childhood saw him get into plenty of scrapes climbing trees and crossing rivers and generally believing he was Indiana Jones. Sam gives credit to his Grandad for him wanting to be a writer, and his bedtime stories for keeping Sam’s imagination stoked. But credit must also go to Steven Spielberg, J K Rowling and Stephen King, who have provided plenty of inspiration over the years, too. Sam writes what he reads, and that is pretty much anything—save romance. Fantasy, thrillers, or crime: once an idea takes root, he can’t stop until the world, characters, and plot are on paper. A huge Marvel fan, Sam one day hopes to pen a screenplay for one of their movies, or direct one, or do anything at all related to one. Until then, he’ll stick to his own fantasy worlds and wait for Marvel’s phone call.

Posted on 09/29/2015, in books, reading, top ten tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I need to get round to a whole bunch of these! And, uh, Game of Thrones itself…

    • I took me a while to start reading Thrones. I watched the TV show and thought I wouldn’t enjoy the books because I know what happens. But the books are still great.

  2. theofficialbookblogaus

    We did the same concept of liking George R. R, Martins books. Heres my TTT

    Jon Flanagan is a legend. Always nice to see him and get books signed.

  3. I think I should put half a king on my tbr. And I really should finish the A song of Ice and Fire series… sometime. Soon. Ish.

    • Half a King is epic. I’m just getting started with Ice and Fire, hoping that by the time I’m done with the books out so far, the Winds of Winter will be published.

  4. This is a great list! I’d add ‘In the name of the wind’ by Patric Rothfuss and ‘The dragon’s path’ by Daniel Abraham if you’re looking for some more great fantasy reads 😊xoxo

  5. Shadow of the Wolf looks awesome and I have never seen it before. I am going to have to look it up. Great list.

  6. Ooh. I definitely want to check out a few of these. They look amazing! 🙂

  7. I love the Throne of Glass series but have never read the Game of Thrones books, their size is so intimidating!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/09/29/top-ten-tuesday-24/

  8. Hmm… Game of Thrones like… So more political, dynastic fantasy…. Two thoughts:

    Melanie Rawn’s Prince of Dragons. That book is excellent, and the entire trilogy very good. Goes downhill after that, but I recommend the first trilogy.

    Kate Eliot’s Crown of Stars series (starting with The King’s Dragon) is also recommended, though I really need to catch up to it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

This Fish Likes To Read

Reading through currents

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Emma Janelle Reads

A YA book blog!

book bear blog

Bear blogs about books!

WRIT

Written by Ritter

Couch Potahto

Everything From the Life of a Part-Time Sofa Spud

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

%d bloggers like this: