Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Book Wishes

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish


Top Ten book wishes…

1 – For there to be a book/novel series version of the Marvel Cinematic Universe

There are comics and a couple of novels, but it would be cool to have original novels like there are movies for each character and novels were the Avengers meet up. Or it doesn’t have to be Marvel, just a good superhero series–Steelheart is the closest I’ve read so far.

2 – For J.K. Rowling to write more Potter books

She said she was writing an encyclopedia, which turned out to be Pottermore, but I want to read more books set in the Wizarding World–about Harry, or other characters, sequels or prequels. Or if she doesn’t want to write more Potter books, then at least another fantasy book.

3 – For Hogwarts to be a real place

This one doesn’t need an explanation.

4 – To meet Stephen King

King is my favourite writer, so it would be wicked to ask him questions about his writing process.

5 – For Jurassic Park to be a real place

A working Jurassic Park–not the one with escaped dinosaurs and screaming. But after two failed parks, this probably wouldn’t happen–even if dinosaurs could be brought back.

6 – To have a home library

Or a house that is a library–shelves of books lining every room.

7 – For Lee Child to write a stand-alone thriller or for Suzanne Collins to write more YA books

I couldn’t decide between these two. I’m a big fan of the Jack Reacher books but it would be cool to see what else Child could write. Suzanne Collins hasn’t written a YA book since Mockingjay, so it would be interesting to see what other book or series she comes up with.

8 – For Skulduggery Pleasant to be adapted into a movie

A movie has been in development for a long time, but Landy said the script was terrible and nothing seems to be moving forward. The Skulduggery books would make epic movies and it’d be cool to see how they created Skulduggery himself.

9 – To visit Middle Earth

Like #3, this one doesn’t need much explanation.

10 – To own a signed copy of a Potter book

They’re rare and expensive to buy, and Rowling doesn’t do much signing any more.

(Cheat) 11 – A book deal

I’ve wanted to be published since I understood what publishing was, and got one step closer with signing with a literary agent earlier this year. Hopefully I’ll be able to get a few steps closer soon.


Does anyone else have a similar wish, or a completely different one? Leave a link to your TTT in a comment below so I can check them out.

About Sam Whitehouse

Sam spends most of his time in a different world to other people. If it isn’t one he’s created himself, it’s one he’s reading about. In the rare moments when this isn’t the case, Sam can either be found addicted to a sci-fi or crime show, re-watching Marvel movies, finishing up an assignment for his final year of studying Creative Writing at Sheffield Hallam University, or trying to get the dozens of ideas for stories in his head under some kind of control. Sam has lived in the same small village in Yorkshire, surrounded by countryside on all sides ever since he could remember. His childhood saw him get into plenty of scrapes climbing trees and crossing rivers and generally believing he was Indiana Jones. Sam gives credit to his Grandad for him wanting to be a writer, and his bedtime stories for keeping Sam’s imagination stoked. But credit must also go to Steven Spielberg, J K Rowling and Stephen King, who have provided plenty of inspiration over the years, too. Sam writes what he reads, and that is pretty much anything—save romance. Fantasy, thrillers, or crime: once an idea takes root, he can’t stop until the world, characters, and plot are on paper. A huge Marvel fan, Sam one day hopes to pen a screenplay for one of their movies, or direct one, or do anything at all related to one. Until then, he’ll stick to his own fantasy worlds and wait for Marvel’s phone call.

Posted on 10/20/2015, in books, reading, top ten tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 61 Comments.

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury

    hehe, the book deal would be super nice right?! 😛 I’m also ALL on board for more books by Suzanne Collins!!

  2. Meeting Stephen King will really be an unforgettable experience. 😀 But… Jurassic Park? I am not brave enough for that! 😀

  3. I just wanted to tell you that I really enjoyed reading your post (which is amazingly written by the way!) and also that I have checked out your blog and it is safe to say I love it! (: . This may seem like a spam comment because of the compliments but it truly is not! So keep up the writing so I can keep reading!!

  4. I think I’d pretty happy with nearly all of these to be granted to me too!

  5. I love superhero books, too. There’s nothing out there with the scope of Marvel so far, though!

    • Steelheart came close, but still didn’t hit the mark. I think there is a Black Widow novel coming out, but It’d be cool to read about Thor and Cap. Or have an original band of superheroes.

  6. All very excellent! I heard about a novel about Black Widow. I’m pretty sure its new and I think it’s an origin story. I just read Stephen King’s Carrie and I liked it! I already knew what was going to happen cuz I’ve heard about it and I’ve seen the movie. I want to read more of his work though. I started The Mist but never finished it. I plan on fixing that soon. Another that I want to read is IT (all I needed to hear was: Clown and King) You you have any recommendations I’m open! Oh and Suzanne Collins does plan on writing more for YA 🙂
    And one last thing. Middle Earth!! ❤ ❤ Every time someone asks what fictional place I want to visit that the first thing that comes to mind. every single time!

    my TTT: https://tattooedpages.wordpress.com/2015/10/20/top-ten-wishes-id-ask-the-book-genie-to-grant-me/

  7. Hogwarts, Jurassic Park…. MIDDLE EARTH! Yes! I want them all! But knowing me I’d get eaten by a dinosaur – I knew my ‘getting-eaten-by-a-dinosaur’ dreams were premonitions!

  8. Margaret Stohl just released a novel about Black Widow and it’s apparently the canon story of the Black Widow! So one of your wishes has come true haha. I’d also love for there to be more Harry Potter books. I’d love even a spin-off, as long as we get to see more of the world!

    • I’ll check the Black Widow book out. It’d be cool to see a spin off from Potter. Someone else had the idea for a series based on the Marauders on one of the lists I’ve seen today. That would be cool. Luckily we’ll get to see more of the world in the Fantastic Beasts movies.

  9. Well, I would definitely come along to visit Middle Earth! Dream come true right there… And Hogwarts as well! I wish there was an endless supply of Potter stories. Even if they were short stories! Just anything…

    • I don’t understand why she hasn’t gone back to the Potter books to write a spin off or prequel. If I’d written them, I think it’d be hard to stay away.

      • For me as well! I’d just want more of the amazing stories out there. But I guess if it was me, I would also be afraid of dragging it on for too long? I guess she has told the story she wanted to. And I think there would be a lot of critics as well, saying she’s just trying to earn a few more millions. Haters either way, I guess? Anyway, I would still pay a lot of money to have another story!

  10. I’d love my own library. One day! Nice list 🙂

  11. Oh my gosh I’m with you 100 percent on the wish to visit Middle Earth! I cannot believe I forgot about that one! And I’m the biggest fan of The Lord of the Rings! *hides in shame*
    Great post!! 😄

  12. I want a prequel of the HP series… and I still have hope for that one. (One can dream, right?)

    As for Jurassic Park… considering how Humankind tends to do things that are bad for ourselves… they would build Jurassic Park stating something like “We are prepared for everything! Don’t worry about nothing!” and it would go wrong… But it would be really great in theory 😀

    • A prequel would be cool. Someone put a wish for a series about the Marauders on their list–that would be interesting.
      Probably right. It didn’t work with Jurassic Park or Jurassic World.

  13. So many things on your list that I’d wish too. especially number 3. That would be a perfect place.

  14. Visiting Jurassic Park would be pretty cool. As long as the visit doesn’t play out like in the movies though… More Potter books would be good too.

  15. Great list – more Harry Potter would be wonderful! Here’s my TTT.

  16. Ha ha!! Your #3 made me laugh out loud. I could only imagine if that was a reality what an awesome place it would be. *fingers crossed you get that wish*
    Great wishes!
    (my wishes – http://foxyblogs.com/ten-wishes-id-ask-the-book-genie-to-grant-me-4/)

  17. I definitely agree about wanting more Harry Potter books. I would read a prequel series about the Marauders in a second. Or a sequel series. Or a completely unrelated companion series. But I guess the Fantastic Beasts movie and the plays she’s writing will have to suffice.

  18. Oh man, lots of YES to this list! Though I fear what would happen if Jurassic Park were real based on all the dangers the movies have shown us, haha. Still would be cool, though!! Thanks for sharing your list with me. 🙂

  19. #9 sounds decidedly dangerous, so wear armour. I’m not so sure about meeting Stephen King … he’s probably great, but no mere person can be live up to the magic of a great book. Your #11 (you cheater!) is similar to one of mine. http://eahoornaert.com/2015/10/20/top-ten-tuesday-my-literary-wishes/

  20. I am with you on the house library and more Potter world books. And a book deal. I could work with that, if i knew someone would take the stuff i write.
    Also the idea to write marvel movie books instead of comics is fantastic. I am not a comic book reader so i only get the movies -not that those are anything bad they clearly know how to cast!- but reading the entire thing would be fantastic!
    Love your list!

    My TTT: http://booksbeautifylife.blogspot.de/2015/10/top-10-tuesday-10-wishes-book-should.html

  21. It would be really cool to have a signed copy of Harry Potter!

  22. I think if I was able to visit Hogwarts I would never leave!! Great list!

  23. I would love a prequel series of HP. Oh, it would be a dream! Nice list.

  24. Yes! I should have used my wish to ask for more Potter books! Remember a billion years ago they said they were going to write about Harry’s son at Hogwarts? Every since I read that I have WANTED so bloody badly for it to actually happen!

  25. Cool idea. A series about the Marauders would be wicked too.

  26. Hogwarts is the ultimate bookish wish, yes please!

  27. Great list! I would love love love to visit Middle Earth! I wish Hogwarts was real, too! It would be so much fun!

  28. Ever since I first discovered The Hunger Games and Harry Potter I’ve been dying for more books from the authors! And I’ve also wanted to go to Hogwarts (who wouldn’t?) great list

    Enchanted by YA: http://enchantedbyya.blogspot.co.uk/2015/10/sunday-post-1.html

Leave a Reply

This Fish Likes To Read

Reading through currents

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Emma Janelle Reads

A YA book blog!

book bear blog

Bear blogs about books!

WRIT

Written by Ritter

Couch Potahto

Everything From the Life of a Part-Time Sofa Spud

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

