Top Ten Tuesday (Halloween) – Top Ten Fictional Fighters of Evil

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish


1 – Skulduggery Pleasant (Skulduggery Pleasant)

Along with Stephanie Edgley and a big cast of other characters, Skulduggery fights monsters and villains (often more than a few) in each of the nine Skulduggery books. He also has to fight his own evil.

2 – Celaena Sardothien (Throne of Glass)

She fights a corrupt king, friends turned enemies, and creatures as well as a growing darkness than threatens her entire world.

3 – Tom Ward (The Wardstone Chronicles/Last Apprentice)

Each of the books in the Wardstone Chronicles/Last Apprentice series is packed with monsters for Tom Ward to fight. But his greatest enemy is the Fiend. He’s helped by his master and trainer Gregory and the witch Alice.

4 – Anthony Lockwood (Lockwood & Co.)

Anthony Lockwood isn’t the main character in the Lockwood & Co. books. Lucy Carlye narrates them, and along with George Cubbins, they help Lockwood take down malevolent ghosts.

5 – Darrow (Red Rising)

Like Katniss Everdeen, Darrow fights a corrupt government, but aims to do it from within. I’ve read Red Rising, but haven’t got around to Golden Son yet.

6 – Harry Potter (Harry Potter)

One of the most famous evil fighters in fiction, Harry Potter has been battling Voldemort since he was a baby. But he also faces off against dementors, death eaters, evil teachers and his own dark connection to Voldemort throughout the seven book series.

7 – Percy Jackson (Percy Jackson and the Olympians)

Percy Jackson fights monsters and creatures and gods all the way through the original series, and finally faces off against the leader of the titans Cronus. He is helped by his father Poseideon and other gods, as well as his fellow demi-gods and best friends Annabeth and Grover.

8 – Tyrion Lannister (A Song of Ice and Fire)

Tyrion Lannister is a hero and an anti-hero. He tries to do good, fighting his father and his sister as well as many other enemies. He does it all while still being funny.

9 – Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games)

Katniss faces enemies in the games, twice, all while fighting against a corrupt government and President Snow too.

10 – Lyra Belacqua (His Dark Materials)

In the first book, Lyra fights Miss Coulter and the Gobblers, before the sequels introduce a corrupt government, The Magisterium, and finally larger evil forces that involve angels and god. I wasn’t a big fan of the last book, but the series is still epic and Lyra is a tough heroine.


Do you have a favourite fighter of evil, or know a few I haven’t included here? Leave links to your TTT list in a comment below so I can check them out…

About Sam Whitehouse

Sam spends most of his time in a different world to other people. If it isn’t one he’s created himself, it’s one he’s reading about. In the rare moments when this isn’t the case, Sam can either be found addicted to a sci-fi or crime show, re-watching Marvel movies, finishing up an assignment for his final year of studying Creative Writing at Sheffield Hallam University, or trying to get the dozens of ideas for stories in his head under some kind of control. Sam has lived in the same small village in Yorkshire, surrounded by countryside on all sides ever since he could remember. His childhood saw him get into plenty of scrapes climbing trees and crossing rivers and generally believing he was Indiana Jones. Sam gives credit to his Grandad for him wanting to be a writer, and his bedtime stories for keeping Sam’s imagination stoked. But credit must also go to Steven Spielberg, J K Rowling and Stephen King, who have provided plenty of inspiration over the years, too. Sam writes what he reads, and that is pretty much anything—save romance. Fantasy, thrillers, or crime: once an idea takes root, he can’t stop until the world, characters, and plot are on paper. A huge Marvel fan, Sam one day hopes to pen a screenplay for one of their movies, or direct one, or do anything at all related to one. Until then, he’ll stick to his own fantasy worlds and wait for Marvel’s phone call.

Posted on 10/27/2015, in books, reading, top ten tuesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 58 Comments.

  1. I love that you put in Tyrion, he’s such a great character! The rest of the list is great too, I think I would add Mare from Red Queen. 🙂

  2. I definitely agree with most of these, especially Celena!

  3. Nicole Groshek

    Love the spin on this TTT! I might add Katsa from the Graceling books… She’s such a bad ass!

  4. Oooh, this is a good theme!

  5. Love the title of your post. I’d also add Rand from Robert Jordan’s crazy long Wheel of Time series.

  6. Great list! I’m going to have to check out Lockwood & Co. It sounds interesting.

  7. Great choices! I would definitely add Vin from Mistborn and maybe the fellowship from Lord of the Rings too 🙂

  8. Great post Sam! I love your idea! Great choices too. 🙂

  9. christine danielle

    I love that you put Katniss in your list! Haha.
    ADVANCE HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

    Here’s mine I hope you check it out 🙂 MY TOP TEN TUESDAY

  10. Oooh good choices!! Too many great characters to choose a favourite!

  11. You’ve got loads of amazing, kick ass characters on your list this week Sam! 🙂

  12. What a great list! Love it. HP, Katniss, and Celaena are probably my favorites. 🙂

  13. Nice list! I haven’t heard of all ideas but it’s a great idea for a topic. The first character I thought of when I read this title was actually L from Death Note, haha.

  14. You have some great characters here. I really loved Celaena in the first two books, but I began to dislike her during HoF and QoS. Especially QoS *shudders* I like how you included Tyrion in this list, since he’s not a conventional fighter. He fights with his mind, which is awesome. xD

  15. yay for Harry Potter! 🙂 My TTT

  16. Darrow might just be one of my favourite fictional characters. He’s so flawed and at times unlikable but that just makes him so wonderfully complex and real. Katniss and Percy Jackson are also great fighters of evil.

    • It’s interesting to read about characters who aren’t perfect. I need to read Golden Son, even if I was a bit disappointed with Red Rising.

      • Golden Son is even better than Red Rising in my opinion. The stakes are higher and there are all sorts of twist and turns. There’s a bit of a cliffhanger though and it’s definitely an emotional roller-coaster. I hope you enjoy it. 😀

      • I’ll buy a copy soon. 🙂

  17. Great picks! You’ve reminded me how much I need to read the Skulduggery Pleasant books!

    Check out my TTT and my Halloween Giveaway.

  18. Love this theme! Alice Bell from the White Rabbit Chronicles would fit in well here.
    MyTTT

  19. Celaena is a total badass. I’d actually be a bit terrified to meet her. The Throne of Glass books are so good! Katniss is pretty badass, too, and her character arc is pretty amazing, even though I don’t really like her, despite liking the Hunger Games series. Katniss is another character I don’t know if I’d like to meet… Of course Harry Potter gets on the list, of course. 😉 Percy Jackson is awesome, too, my favorite demigod ever. Glad to see some love for Darrow, Tyrion, and Lyra!

    • I read the Hunger Games a long time ago, and even though I’ve seen the movies recently I can’t remember much from the books. I might re-read them soon. I need to read the first book in Rick Riordan’s Norse series too.
      Thanks for checking out my post.

  20. That’s a great list of badass fighters of injustice! Celaena is definitely one of my favourites, but who doesn’t aspire to be as fierce as she is? My favourite heroine is probably Cinder from The Lunar Chronicles! She’s amazing!

  21. Oh cool, there are some characters I’ve not heard of before, and the last few I wholeheartedly agree with!

  22. Great idea for this week’s topic. Anthony Lockwood is a great answer to it.
    I’ve heard a lot about Skulduggery but I have yet to read it.

  23. I enjoyed seeing Lyra on your list; Pullman’s books have sort of disappeared lately. If you’re in the mood for some good Halloween music, stop by my list at http://eahoornaert.com/2015/10/27/top-ten-halloween-tunes/.

  24. I have heard of most of these (although I haven’t read quite a few, only the wildly popular ones like game of thrones, Percy Jackson, throne of glass, Harry Potter and Skullduggery Pleasant). What about contemporary superheroes who battle with different type of things like family or friends and loyalty? Anyway, this is a pretty good list 🙂

  25. skulduggery and the wardstone chronicals are the best I’ve ever read. Tom Ward and Valkyrie Cain are so similar. Both brave , ignorant and are willing to die for their loved ones. Makes me cry.

Leave a Reply

This Fish Likes To Read

Reading through currents

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Emma Janelle Reads

A YA book blog!

book bear blog

Bear blogs about books!

WRIT

Written by Ritter

Couch Potahto

Everything From the Life of a Part-Time Sofa Spud

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

