Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Sophomore Novels I Want To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish


Top ten sophomore novels I haven’t read yet, but look forward to reading. 

1 – J. K. Rowling’s new children’s book

JK Rowling has started writing another children's book

Only recently Rowling announced on Radio 2: “I have an idea for a children’s book, actually I have written part of a children’s book that I really love, so I’m definitely going to finish that. There will be another children’s book.”

She’s written the Galbraith books, but this is her sophomore children’s series. It’s not much to go on, but it’s something. Wicked.

2 – Winter’s Teeth (Sherwood’s Doom series) by Tim Hall

The first book in this series blends the legend of Robin Hood with werewolves and X-Men and Game of Thrones. It’s also action packed and some of the best written fantasy I’ve read, so I’m looking forward to the sequel. Check this series out if you haven’t already.

3 – Miss Peregrine’s: Hollow City by Ransom Riggs

The first book was hyped a lot, and I was disappointed after finishing it. It was entertaining, but it should have been creepier and faster-paced. I’m still looking forward to the sequel which will hopefully be better.

4 – Fire (Graceling) by Kristin Cashore

Graceling was as close to a YA Game of Thrones as I’ve read, with plenty of action, adventure and some epic writing. I hear the sequel has different characters, but I’m still looking forward to reading it.

5 – The Map of Bones (Fire Sermon) by Francesca Haig

Even thought this series is dystopia, Haig managed to make it pretty unique. Plenty of action, some gripping set pieces and a solid plot made the first book epic. Hopefully the second will live up to it.

6 – Rebel Heart (Dustlands) by Moira Young

Blood Red Road (the first book) is action-packed from beginning to end. The other books have received positive reviews, so they should be as good as the first.

7 – Zhek by Andy Weir

The Martian is one of my favourite books. Weir has said his next book (tentatively titled Zhek) will be “a more traditional sci-fi novel”.

8 – Veronica Roth’s sci-fi series (Untitled Duology)

Technically this isn’t a sophomore novel, but it’s a sophomore series. I’m not a big fan of Divergent, but her sci-fi duology sounds cool: “In the vein of ‘Star Wars'” it will tell of a boy’s “unlikely alliance” with an enemy.
“Both desperate to escape their oppressive lives, they help each other attain what they most desire: for one, redemption, and the other, revenge.”

9 – Mr. Fahrenheit by Martin T. Michael

25816691

The End Games, Michael’s first book, was pretty good. A bit slow-paced, but his second novel sounds wicked, pitched as Stephen King meets Super 8, it will be about a group of teens who witness a flying saucer approaching Earth.

10 – Golden Son by Pierce Brown

Even though I was a bit disappointed with Red Rising after the hype it was still an action-packed, well written book, and I’ve heard Golden Son is better.


Has anyone already read any of these sophomore novels? If so, what did you think? Which sophomore novels or series are you looking forward to?

About Sam Whitehouse

Sam spends most of his time in a different world to other people. If it isn’t one he’s created himself, it’s one he’s reading about. In the rare moments when this isn’t the case, Sam can either be found addicted to a sci-fi or crime show, re-watching Marvel movies, finishing up an assignment for his final year of studying Creative Writing at Sheffield Hallam University, or trying to get the dozens of ideas for stories in his head under some kind of control. Sam has lived in the same small village in Yorkshire, surrounded by countryside on all sides ever since he could remember. His childhood saw him get into plenty of scrapes climbing trees and crossing rivers and generally believing he was Indiana Jones. Sam gives credit to his Grandad for him wanting to be a writer, and his bedtime stories for keeping Sam’s imagination stoked. But credit must also go to Steven Spielberg, J K Rowling and Stephen King, who have provided plenty of inspiration over the years, too. Sam writes what he reads, and that is pretty much anything—save romance. Fantasy, thrillers, or crime: once an idea takes root, he can’t stop until the world, characters, and plot are on paper. A huge Marvel fan, Sam one day hopes to pen a screenplay for one of their movies, or direct one, or do anything at all related to one. Until then, he’ll stick to his own fantasy worlds and wait for Marvel’s phone call.

Posted on 11/03/2015, in books, reading, top ten tuesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. I had the same reaction to Red Rising – I was excited to read it after everything I heard about it, then was a little disappointed though it had some good things going for it. I’ll definitely be reading the second book, hopefully soon. I’m hoping it improves on the first book.

  2. Great picks! I’m really looking forward to continuing the Dust Lands trilogy as well. 🙂

    Check out my TTT and the weekly meme I hosting on my blog Music Monday.

  3. Running off to check out the Tim Hall series. Sounds like a great concept. Thanks for sharing your great list!

  4. I will say that I love JK Rowling’s Cormoran Strike books. (I’m also a mystery lover.) Just picked up the new one the other day. Now I just need to squeeze it into my reading schedule! 🙂

  5. Fire is a great choice! I just started listening to The Martian yesterday, and I’m loving it so far.

  6. WHAT? I didn’t realize Veronica Roth was making another series. Yay! Of course after book 3 in the first series… I’m not what to think.
    thanks for the heads up
    My TTT – http://wp.me/p4uAPW-213

    • Yeah. I’m not sure when it’s being released, but if it’s like Star Wars it should be pretty cool.
      I’m looking forward to Andy Weir’s next book too. Great list.

  7. I liked Fire a lot, but it’s a very different part of the same world! Bitterblue is more directly related to it.

  8. Interesting list. The only one that might make my list, though, is Rowling.

    • She didn’t say much about the new children’s book, only that she likes it. I’m also looking forward to seeing what her screenplay of Fantastic Beats is like.

  9. As much as I loved Graceling I found that I didn’t enjoy Fire and Bitterblue as much, which sucks because I had such high hopes about them. I’m so excited to read Veronica Roth’s new book and I hope you enjoy Golden Son. Happy reading.

  10. I’ve never read the Graceling series, maybe I should check it out, if it reminds you of GoT!!

  11. I saw the J.K. Rowling announcement on Twitter today. I cannot wait! Fire is a very good follow-up to Graceling.

  12. Yes to JK Rowling and Andy Weir! I’ve always wanted to read Graceling. I have Ernest Cline’s second book, Armada, on my Kindle, but haven’t read it yet.

    • Graceling is worth checking out. There was too much romance for me at times, but the action and fighting made up for it. I want to read Ready Player One. Good to hear Spielberg is directing the movie adaption. Is Ready Player One worth reading?

  13. Golden Son is definitely better, really recommend!

  14. I’m currently reading Miss Peregrinne’s Home for Peculiar Children and while I found the start okay I am having trouble picking it back up again, maybe because it is a bit slow so I understand how you feel about that book.
    Great list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

This Fish Likes To Read

Reading through currents

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Emma Janelle Reads

A YA book blog!

book bear blog

Bear blogs about books!

WRIT

Written by Ritter

Couch Potahto

Everything From the Life of a Part-Time Sofa Spud

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

