Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Book to Movie Adaptions I’m Looking Forward To

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish


1 – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Fantastic Beasts Logo.png

The plot of the Beasts movies doesn’t sound interesting yet, but more Potter (at least sort of) movies (3 of them) is cool with me. Seeing more of the Wizarding World will be interesting and the already impressive cast is growing. 

2 – The 5th Wave

Reading the book is almost like watching a movie at times–Yancey knows how to write action. This series took an unexpected turn in the second book, so it will be cool to see how it translates to screen. The first trailer wasn’t mind-blowing, but I’m still looking forward to it. 

3 – Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Tim Burton is probably the only director for this book to movie adaption, and hopefully he can make the movie as creepy and fast-paced as the book should have been. It will be interesting to see if the movie is better than the book. I enjoyed Miss Peregrine’s, but it had more potential. 

4 – Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2

The reviews are already coming in for Mockingjay Part 2, and they’re mostly positive. Part 1 was a bit slow and not much happened. But everything ends in this second part so it should be action-packed from beginning to end. 

5 – Lockwood & Co. – The Screaming Staircase

Warner Bros. have optioned the rights to Jonathan Stroud’s book, but the rights to the Bartimeaus trilogy were also optioned and nothing happened. Hopefully, things will be different with Lockwood and the movie will happen. It would make an awesome, action-packed film series. 

6 – Red Rising

Universal have optioned this one, and Marc Forster (World War Z) is signed on to direct. With plenty of action and an epic setting, this could be a huge movie. But it seems every movie set on Mars (save The Martian) has been a flop at the box office: John Carter being the biggest, despite how wicked it is. 

7 – The Martian

The Martian is one of the best books I’ve read this year, and one of my favourite books of all time. The movie had been out a while, but I haven’t seen it yet. From the trailers Ridley Scott nails the scope and action and Matt Damon has Watney’s humor down pat. 

8 – The Maze Runner: Death Cure

I’m not a big fan of the book, but if the success of the first two movies are anything to go by, The Death Cure should be pretty good. Scorch Trials needed more plot, but everything has to be wrapped up in the last movie so it should be WICKED (is good).

9 – Jack Reacher: Never Go Back

Some weren’t happy with Cruise as Reacher, but he nailed the character in the first movie. Never Go Back is the one Reacher book I haven’t read yet, and I’m holding off so the plot of the movie is unexpected. 

10 – His Dark Materials (BBC TV show)

I (and not many others) enjoyed the movie adaption of the Northern Lights. It wasn’t a great adaption, but it was an epic movie in it’s own right. The BBC have recently bought the rights for the whole series. TV seems a better way to adapt the books, so this could be good. 

Extras: Steven Spielberg’s adaption of The BFG by Roald Dahl, Narnia: The Silver Chair, Vicious by V.E. Schwab.


Anyone else looking forward to one or more of these, or a different one? Feel free to add a link in a comment to your TTT so I can check them out…

About Sam Whitehouse

Sam spends most of his time in a different world to other people. If it isn’t one he’s created himself, it’s one he’s reading about. In the rare moments when this isn’t the case, Sam can either be found addicted to a sci-fi or crime show, re-watching Marvel movies, finishing up an assignment for his final year of studying Creative Writing at Sheffield Hallam University, or trying to get the dozens of ideas for stories in his head under some kind of control. Sam has lived in the same small village in Yorkshire, surrounded by countryside on all sides ever since he could remember. His childhood saw him get into plenty of scrapes climbing trees and crossing rivers and generally believing he was Indiana Jones. Sam gives credit to his Grandad for him wanting to be a writer, and his bedtime stories for keeping Sam’s imagination stoked. But credit must also go to Steven Spielberg, J K Rowling and Stephen King, who have provided plenty of inspiration over the years, too. Sam writes what he reads, and that is pretty much anything—save romance. Fantasy, thrillers, or crime: once an idea takes root, he can’t stop until the world, characters, and plot are on paper. A huge Marvel fan, Sam one day hopes to pen a screenplay for one of their movies, or direct one, or do anything at all related to one. Until then, he’ll stick to his own fantasy worlds and wait for Marvel’s phone call.

Posted on 11/10/2015, in books, movies, reading, top ten tuesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 54 Comments.

  1. Yes to Mockingjay, even though I don’t like the ending! 😀

  2. I liked the Golden Compass film too – it’s sad it flopped, because the girl playing Lyra was really good I thought – looking forward to the series 🙂
    (here’s my TTT: http://basedonthebook.blogspot.co.uk/2015/11/top-10-tuesday-adaptations-to-look.html)

  3. Omg they are doing a His Dark Materials tv series?! I haven’t done the books yet but I liked the movie and would totally be down for a tv series. I must hurry up and do the books!

  4. I keep forgetting that Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is going to be a movie. I’m excited to see what they do with it.

  5. While I didn’t love Mockingjay as a book, I’m still really looking forward to the final installment of the movie! I was also thrilled to hear that BBC will be making a TV adaptation of His Dark Materials. I found the movie disappointing so keeping my fingers crossed that BBC will do a better job.

  6. How did I forget about Red Rising!?!?! I remember hearing about it being in the talks for a film series, but apparently my brain wasn’t working when I wrote my post yesterday. Anyway, glad we’re both excited about many of these. I still need to read The 5th Wave, but I love Chloe Moritz so I’m sure I’ll get to it. Great list!

  7. I’m reading Red Rising right now as part of the Goodreads readalong and first off, I love it. Pierce Brown is a genius, but I wonder how it’ll be adapted. I worry that it’ll be done poorly. There are so many dimensions to the book, I feel like it would have been better as a TV series instead of a movie. *shrugs*

    • Could be a decent TV show, but it would be hard to do on a TV budget.

    • Could be a decent TV show, but it would be hard to do on a TV budget.

      • Yeah, I see how that wouldn’t be a reasonable decision. But I think character dev will suffer as it almost always does in adaptations, unfortunately. I’ll still go see it, though for sure, I’m in love with the book, there’s no way I wont, lol! 😉

      • If it’s made as well as the Potter and Hunger Games adaptions, it should be great. And Marc Forster is a good director.

      • This is true, I was honestly disappointed by the 2nd installment of the Maze Runner trilogy. I don’t mind divergence from original plot lines etc, but giving up character dev actually does bother me. (Wow, what a snob I am, shakes head, I don’t even watch that many movies!!!) *runs and hides in corner*

      • Death Cure disappointed me too–but hopefully the movie will still be good.

  8. Oh my gosh I refuse to see the Reacher movies. Tom Cruise will ruin my view of Reacher forever. I’m reading “Make Me” right now. 🙂

    Otherwise great list! I didn’t realize Lockwood was up for a film, I need to read that book. I just bought it for my son to read.

  9. Great choices, I’m DYING to see Red Rising made into an awesome movie! I’m also really excited about the new BBC adaptation of the His Dark Materials trilogy. The Martian was excellent, not quite as good as the book but pretty damn close considering the different formats 🙂

  10. The Martian was pretty good! And ooh, I didn’t know about the Pullman trilogy being adapted by the BBC, that should be good.

  11. Great picks! I’m excited for Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, as well.

  12. Interesting list, as always. I interpreted the theme a bit differently, as the best adaptations I’ve seen of books I’ve read. My TTT: http://eahoornaert.com/2015/11/10/top-ten-tuesday-movie-adaptations/.

  13. I really excited for Miss Peregrines, I also loved you picks!

  14. I am so glad that the BBC is adapting His Dark Materials! I didn’t really care for The Golden Compass movie. I always thought it deserved better treatment. I’m looking forward to so many on your list, including Miss Peregrine and The 5th Wave!

    • I enjoyed the Golden Compass as a movie on it’s own, but not as an adaption of the book. I heard that the movie studio pressured the writer/director into removing a lot of the books content because they were worried about the religion offending people. There’s rumours about a director’s cut, but it’s never been released on DVD.

  15. Fantastic Beasts, Miss Peregrine’s and The Fifth Wave are all on my list too, can’t wait for them to be released as well! Same goes for Mockingjay Part 2, of course. Fingers crossed they all turn out to be relatively satisfying!

  16. I enjoyed The Martian. The Amber Spyglass – like you said, it wasn’t a great adaptation but it was a good movie.
    Great list.
    Lynn 😀

  17. There are some awesome upcoming movies on this list! I can’t wait for a bunch of these!!

  18. Red Rising all the way. One of my favorite series to date. Cannot wait for the third book. I hope they don’t mess up the movie *sigh*.

    While I haven’t read His Dark Materials (I really want to) I saw the movie and cannot wait to see the TV show.

    I do want to see The Knife of Never Letting Go as a movie, or the Seven Realms series as a TV show ^^

    • I haven’t read Golden Son yet, but I’ve heard it improves on the first book.
      The books are great–the third book not as epic as the first two, but still good.
      I’ve never read the Knife of Never Letting Go or Seven Realms. May check them out.

  19. Cait @ Paper Fury

    I’m utterly DESPERATE FOR RED RISING *flails wildly* I feel like it’ll translate really well to screen too *nods* And I hope Miss Peregrine’s is super creepy. I mean, it’s Tim Burton, right?!?! IT SHOULD BE EPIC. (I found the book pretty anticlimactic >_<)

  20. I didn’t know about the BFG – that could be awesome!

  21. I haven’t even heard of so many of these! I will have to do some googling 🙂

Leave a Reply

This Fish Likes To Read

Reading through currents

Paper Fury

read. write. world domination

Emma the Book Lover

A YA blog by a cat loving reader.

book bear blog

Bear blogs about books!

WRIT

Written by Ritter

Couch Potahto

Everything From the Life of a Part-Time Sofa Spud

Q's Book Blog

Book Reviews. Discover Good Books to Read.

